hosthub.blogg.se

Will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders
Will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders













will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders

Hammer Extensions: Two different sizes for Contenders-vintage with the selector lever on top of the hammer is the same size as on Encore and G2,ĭry Firing: Encores and G2s should not be dry fired unless the firing pin bushing is removed and the fall of the hammer cushioned while Contenders can be dry fired continuously with no harm at all to the frame SO LONG AS THE HAMMER IS NOT COCKED (Dry firing simply releases the striker in the trigger group and gives the full effect of the trigger pull, independent of the hammer being cocked. Internal Frame Mechanism Springs: No Springs in the Contender frame interchange with Encores & G2s,įorend Screws: Contenders & G2s use No.

will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders

Hinge Pin Hole Diameters: Encore is 7/16" (.4375"), and Contender and G2 are 3/8" (.375"),

will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders

Trigger Mechanisms: Two different types of Contender trigger groups both of which are removeable while Encore and G2 trigger mechanisms are not removeable,įiring Pins: Encore is center fire only, Contender and G2 have a selector on the hammer to fire either centerfire or rimfire, Internal mechanism: Contender has a hammer block, Encore and G2 sears lock the hammer at half cock, Scope Bases: Encores have the larger radius on the bottom, And I was starting to head down that path.Frame Sizes: Encore is bigger than G2 or Contender,īarrel diameters where they seat in the frame: Contender/G2 13/16," Encore 1" so they do not interchange, thus, I already reload for other under appreciated calibers, so adding a couple more wayward children is par for the course.Ĭontender barrels are still far cheaper than custom chambered Ruger single action revolvers. I had planned to replace it with a SS ProHunter in 460S&W, but I think this new path will be much more enjoyable. I had an Encore with a 50cal, 22-250, and 7mmRemMag, but I sold it off in pieces to fund other purchases. But there is no reason I can't get both a 7-30 AI and a 7 JDJ, right? I will have to add a 7mm barrel simply because I already have two other 7mm rifles with a plan to add a BLR in7mm-08. So it's a good thing I didn't waffle! He said he's glad I'm the one getting it and his brother got a kick out of me buying the other two octagon barrels. The owner of the LGS told me that another regular came back to the shop Sunday to buy the Contender. Posts: 16 | Location: Evansville, IN | Registered: January 11, 2015 One set for bench and varmints with a bipod and another to carry in the woods for shooting off a mono support stick.Īnyway, just wanted to introduce myself and say thanks for all the great info I found here while just lurking and doing my research. I'm going to order a couple of sets forends and grips from Tony. I think I'm going to have SSK do a 414SM Whisper conversion (sans the suppressor) on a Marlin 336 for me too. I'm also intrigued by the 7JDJ and 375JDJ. I'm already jonesing for a 327 Federal, 6.5JDJ or a 7-30 AI, followed by 357 Maximum and 44Mag barrels.

will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders

Those barrels will complement other firearms I already own and I love those calibers. I'm already planning to pick up a 6.8SPC, 45 Colt, 222Rem or 222Rem Mag, and 35 Rem barrels. I've quickly realized the Contender pistol is a slippery slope. I can't wait to get these in my possession! I've wanted a 41 Mag for a while and missed the Ruger SBH Hunter in 41 Mag and I'm still kicking myself about that, so I told him I would take his setup and the other two barrels if he would let me pay for them on layaway. I asked if the G2 frame had already been tuned he said it had and the 41 was a tack driver. He said he had one in the back case, one of his personal setups, a 41 Mag with a Leopold scope and a 22LR match barrel that had never been fired. Then I asked him to keep an eye out for a nice G2 Pistol frame. I laughed and said it looks like they're all accounted for then because I want the 221 Fireball and 256WM. He was interested in the 22Jet, but not the others. He said his brother wanted the 25-35 but not the others. Well, the four barrels were 22Jet, 221 Fireball, 25-35, and 256WM. He thought one was a 222Rem and knew I had a Remington 222Rem already. He said he bought 4 octagon barrels off a guy and was going to sell all four on Gunbroker but if I was interested he'd give me a deal. The owner was there and asked if I had a Contender. Stopped in at my favorite LGS to "kill some time over lunch" and pic up some 45ACP bullets for reloading. I will be the new owner of a Contender and multiple barrels soon. Found this recommended forum while doing some Google searches on TC Contenders.















Will new tc contender barrels fit older contenders